Firefox/Projects/Personas Uplift Exploration/Weekly Meetings Notes 10.01.09

From MozillaWiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Attendees: "Johnathan Nightingale" <johnath@mozilla.com>; "matthew zeier" <mrz@mozilla.com>; "Ryan Doherty" <rdoherty@mozilla.com>; "morgamic" <morgamic@mozilla.com>; "Nick Nguyen" <nick@mozilla.com>; "Chris Beard" <cbeard@mozilla.com>; "Tara Shahian" <tshahian@mozilla.com>; "Melissa Shapiro" <mshapiro@mozilla.com>; "Stephen Donner" <sdonner@mozilla.com>; "Wil Clouser" <wclouser@mozilla.com>; "Justin Scott" <jscott@mozilla.com>


Need to figure out who is running what?

  • Jonath: product experience
  • Jane, Tara: marketing
  • Nick, Fligtar: integration experience
  • Security? Jonath for now
  • Melissa: PR
  • Seth: email about L10N

Schedule

  • Need a schedule on wiki page:
  • Code freeze end of next week
  • Mid October for beta

Integration (Jonath)

  • If you’re running a nightly, personas is there
  • Couple of bugs (Better undo experience; probably a notification bar)
  • Back to default vs. last persona (back to default is better) -- see bug 518468
  • Anything to add to mogamic's optimization list?
    • One additional: Can we do anything to improve hover experience? Pre-loading images in Firefox cache so local fech
    • Jonath to ask Dao to assign bugs on anything not assigned

Marketing

  • Name of in-product feature?; Jane to set up discussion and send conclusion

Add On

  • Maintain two galleries? Set up meeting with AMO
  • Crowdflower solution to scale approval capacity

Web Dev

  • Ryan to cycle on cleaning up getpersonas.com

Web Dev Ideas for Optimization

Jonath and team to sync up their bug list with these suggestions:

  • fix server-side components to properly use HTTP headers
  • honor HTTP headers properly in the client
      • do not explicitly send no-cache headers for all pages
      • set healthy cache expiry css, jpg, js
      • set healthy cache expiry for persona data
  • modify failure or timeout handling in client
      • no network connection - in offline mode it shouldn't even try
      • low timeout - try header first and if no response, keep current persona
      • check cache timeout and if not expired, don't check for new
      • check content-length and if nothing is different, don't download new
  • discuss capacity planning assuming the above are addressed
      • if N users updated N times per day, how many requests does that create
      • what hardware would we need to purchase
      • better database server with multiple read-only slaves
      • more memory to support memcache partitions
      • N web nodes for Apache/PHP
      • what software changes would we need to make
      • add memcached support
      • add multiple database support
      • fix session persistence to be efficient in a clustered environment with load balancer