QA/Testdays/Events/Relaunch v1

From MozillaWiki
< QA‎ | Testdays
Jump to: navigation, search

Summary

This page details the plan of action for a week-long event to relaunch the Testdays program. Instead of a single day focused on completing work, we'll have a week with multiple smaller events geared towards mentorship in very specific areas. The ultimate goal is to experiment, to attract and retain more contributors, and to generate more feedback on test events.

Details

  • When: September 22-26, 2014 (various times)
  • Where: #qa channel on irc.mozilla.org
  • What: Mentorship (various topics to be determined)

Success Criteria

We will succeed if:

  • we have multiple committed volunteers
  • we retain people and see them active in other areas following the event
  • we get feedback from participants and volunteers

Before the Event

We need the following before the event can be advertised:

  • 5 or more volunteer organizers
  • 5 or more volunteer mentors
  • [ON TRACK] checklist of requirements/guidelines for organizing testdays
  • [DONE] Mozillians group to organize participants of the event [Anthony Hughes]
  • [DONE] survey to collect feedback from participants [Aaron Train]

Volunteers

Do not volunteer unless you're 100% committed! If you do volunteer, add something to your calendar as a reminder.

Volunteering is for everyone. As long as have a testing knowledge you want to share (ex. tools, skills, etc) we need your help.

Organizers

We require 5 or more people to organize a testing activity, and at least one for each day of the week.

Responsibilities
  • identifying a topic to oversee
  • identifying a day/time period for your activity (a two hour time limit is recommended)
  • ensuring a very basic tutorial exists for participants to reference
  • provide instructions on how to contribute after-hours
  • create an etherpad, wiki page, or whatever way works for you to record contributors and their contributions during your activity (this way we can loop back with you to evaluate)
  • if you volunteer, add your name/activity to the sign-up sheet
Topic Suggestions
  • teaching our tools and methods to testing
  • how to file a bug
  • how to submit a crash report and get that into bugzilla
  • how to use IRC
  • how to use one & done
  • signing up for Mozillians (potentially use to funnel people into QA, QA Events groups)

Mentors

We require 5 or more volunteers to mentor, and at least one person per testing activity, in addition to the activity organizer.

Responsibilities
  • be on IRC during the time dictated by the activity
  • provide 1:1 mentorship to anyone who needs it by whatever means is most effective for you (Vidyo is recommended for productive 1:1 interactions and screensharing)
  • encourage your contributor(s) to register a Mozillians account under the Testdays-Relaunch-v1 group (be willing to walk them through if necessary)
  • encourage your contributor(s) to fill out our survey after they've finished participating (make sure you fill out this survey as well)
  • create an etherpad, wiki page, or whatever way works for you to record people you've mentored and their contributions during your activity (this way we can loop back with you to evaluate)
  • if you volunteer, add your name to the sign-up sheet

Moderators

Unlike in the past, there will be no set moderators in the channel. Instead, everyone who is in the channel will be considered a moderator. In other words, if you see someone needs help, help them!

Responsibilities
  • Welcome new people who've joined the channel
  • Ping activity organizers and mentors to help connect potential contributors
  • Suggested documented instructions/tutorials/mentors for contributors showing up after-hours

Mentor Sign-ups

Please also link your Mozillians profile from your name

When
(day/time - PDT)
Topic
(subject of mentorship)
Organizer
(your name/nick)
Mentors
(your name/nick)
Documentation
(links to docs/videos/etc)
Monday, Thursday, Friday - 7:00 AM PDT (14:00 UTC) to 2:00 PM PDT (21:00 UTC) Learning about MozRegression, our regression range finder for Firefox builds Aaron Train (:AaronMT) Aaron Train (:AaronMT), Liz Henry (:lizzard) <thead> </thead> <tbody> </tbody>
Finding a Regression Window
Tuesday, Wednesday, Saturday, Sunday - 6:30 AM PDT (13:30 UTC) to 9:30 AM PDT (16:30 UTC)
Learning about One and Done
Swarnava Sengupta (:Swarnava)
Swarnava Sengupta (:Swarnava)
How to get Start with Mozilla One and Done
-
Tuesday, Wednesday, Saturday, Sunday - 6:30 AM PDT (13:30 UTC) to 9:30 AM PDT (16:30 UTC)
Learning about Moztrap
Swarnava Sengupta (:Swarnava)
Swarnava Sengupta (:Swarnava)
How to get Start with Moztrap
-
Monday, Thursday - 8:00 AM PDT (15:00 UTC) to 9:00 AM PDT (16:00 UTC)
Getting started with bugzilla.mozilla.org. How to read and understand bugs. Searching in Bugzilla. Filing good bugs, explanation of life cycle of a bug.
Liz Henry (:lizzard)
Liz Henry (:lizzard), Anthony Hughes (:ashughes)
Bugzilla Guided Tour
-
Monday,Friday, Saturday, Sunday - 8:30 AM PDT (15:30 UTC) to 11:30 AM PDT (18:30 UTC)
Getting started with One and Done
Jayakumar Sadhasivam (:iamjayakumars)
Jayakumar Sadhasivam (:iamjayakumars), Anthony Hughes (:ashughes)
Driving through One and Done
-
Monday,Friday, Saturday, Sunday - 8:30 AM PDT (15:30 UTC) to 11:30 AM PDT (18:30 UTC)
Getting started with Moztrap
Jayakumar Sadhasivam (:iamjayakumars)
Jayakumar Sadhasivam (:iamjayakumars), Anthony Hughes (:ashughes)
How to get Start with Moztrap
-
Monday, Wednesday - 12:30 PM PDT (19:30 UTC) to 14:30 PM PDT (21:30 UTC)
Basic troubleshooting
Gabriela Montagu (:gaby2300) [1]
Gabriela Montagu (:gaby2300)
Restarting with all addons disabled: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1arbMZtnaf80gtHRn_OQtAKMht1iJ8YMJcePQ7fJMrSg/edit?usp=sharing. How to create a new profile: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/profile-manager-create-and-remove-firefox-profiles
-
}

Schedule of Events

Monday

  • 07:00 - 14:00 PDT (UTC -7): Finding a Regression Window (AaronMT)
  • 08:00 - 09:00 PDT (UTC -7): Bugzilla Guided Tour (lizzard)
  • 08:30 - 11:30 PDT (UTC -7): One & Done, Moztrap (Swarnava & iamjayakumars)
  • 12:30 - 14:30 PDT (UTC -7): Basic Troubleshooting (gaby2300)

Tuesday

  • 06:30 - 09:30 PDT (UTC -7): One & Done, Moztrap (Swarnava & iamjayakumars)

Wednesday

  • 06:30 - 09:30 PDT (UTC -7): One & Done, Moztrap (Swarnava & iamjayakumars)
  • 12:30 - 14:30 PDT (UTC -7): Basic Troubleshooting (gaby2300)

Thursday

Friday

  • 07:00 - 14:00 PDT (UTC -7): Finding a Regression Window (AaronMT)
  • 08:30 - 11:30 PDT (UTC -7): One & Done, Moztrap (Swarnava & iamjayakumars)

Saturday

  • 06:30 - 09:30 PDT (UTC -7): One & Done, Moztrap (Swarnava & iamjayakumars)
  • 08:30 - 11:30 PDT (UTC -7): One & Done, Moztrap (Swarnava & iamjayakumars)

Sunday

  • 06:30 - 09:30 PDT (UTC -7): One & Done, Moztrap (Swarnava & iamjayakumars)
  • 08:30 - 11:30 PDT (UTC -7): One & Done, Moztrap (Swarnava & iamjayakumars)

Next Steps

  • dev-quality post & qa-staff notice on the structure of the event, what we need from people (topics, owners, mentors, etc) [ashughes]
    • be sure to reiterate in the Discussions section of the staff meeting
  • develop a feedback survey for the event [aaronmt]
    • need topics from mentors so this can be added to the survey
  • Figure out if Mozillian tags can be emailed [ashughes] --> pending response from William Reynolds
  • Forward channel traffic to #qa [ashughes] --> Gavin suggested "set /mode #lL #testday 1", I'll have to look into this
  • Move Testdaybot over to #qa [ashughes] --> pending response from David Burns